December 4, 2022

Eureka News

All the News All the Time

Facts about the Australian Open | Eureka News Now

2 min read

Eureka News Now —

Here’s a look at the Australian Open, one of four competitions that make up the “Grand Slam” of professional tennis. The other three are Wimbledon, the French Open and the US Open.

January 16-29, 2023 – The 111th Australian Open is scheduled to take place.

January 17-30, 2022 – The 110th Australian Open takes place.

The tournament will be played at Melbourne Park in Melbourne, Australia.

The Australian Open is played on blue surface hard courts.

Rafael Nadal defeated Daniil Medvedev in the men’s final to claim a record-breaking 21st Grand Slam title.

Ashleigh Barty became the first home Australian Open winner since 1978 after defeating Danielle Collins in the women’s final.

The total prize money for 2022 was A$75 million. Pricing information for 2023 has not yet been released.

Youngest Winners – Men’s Singles – Ken Rosewall (18); Ladies Singles – Martina Hingis (16)

Oldest Winner – Men’s Singles – Rosewall (37); Ladies Singles – Thelma Long (35)

Most consecutive singles wins – men – Roy Emerson (five) 1963-1967; Women – Margaret Court (seven) 1960-1966

Most singles titles overall – men – Djokovic (nine); Ladies – Margaret Court (11)

1905 – The Australasian Championships are held in Melbourne.

1927 – Name changed to Australian Championships.

1954 – Thelma Long wins the women’s singles championship at age 35, becoming the oldest woman to do so.

1969 – Name changed to Australian Open.

1972 – Ken Rosewall wins the men’s singles championship aged 37, becoming the oldest male player to win the Australian Open. Rosewall also holds the record for the youngest champion, winning in 1953 at the age of 18.

2001 – Starts paying equal prize money to men and women.

15-16 January 2022 – World No. 1 and 2021 men’s singles world champion Novak Djokovic is arrested and deported from Australia over a visa and vaccination dispute as he misses the tournament.

November 15, 2022 – Australia’s Department of Immigration announces the lifting of Djokovic’s three-year travel ban, paving the way for the nine-time singles champion to compete at the 2023 Australian Open.

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.